List of Former Ministers of Petroleum in Nigeria

Nigeria, formally known as the Federal Republic of Nigeria, is a nation in West Africa. Geographically, it is located in the Atlantic Ocean between the Sahel to the north and the Gulf of Guinea to the south. With a population of nearly 218 million, it is the sixth-most populated country in the world and the most populous country in Africa. Its total size is 923,769 square kilometres (356,669 square miles). Niger, Chad, Cameroon, and Benin are Nigeria’s northern, eastern, and western neighbours. Nigeria, a federal republic with 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory (where Abuja, the nation’s capital, is located), is made up of these parts. The largest city in Nigeria is Lagos, one of the largest metropolitan areas in the world and the second-largest in Africa.

Petroleum Ministers in Nigeria

In Nigeria, it is the duty of the Minister of Petroleum to supervise the activities of the Federal Ministry of Petroleum Resources. One of the main responsibilities of the Minis is to oversee parastatals and subsidiaries that are affiliated with the Federal Ministry of Petroleum Resources, as well as to market crude oil and petroleum products, encourage private sector involvement in the industry through finance and participation, licence all operations and activities related to the petroleum and gas sector, and develop hydrocarbon industries for the exploration of petroleum resources.

A Ministry was established to supervise the nation’s petroleum-related operations in 1975. The Ministry of Petroleum and Energy is how it was referred to.

This is a list of Petroleum Ministers in Nigeria:


On November 11, 2015, President Buhari selected him to serve as the state’s minister of petroleum resources. He served as the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation’s (NNPC) board chairman, as required by the provisions of the Nigerian Petroleum Corporation Act of 1999. He lost his position as Minister of State for Petroleum Resources when Timipre Sylva took over on May 29, 2021. In the months of December 2015 and January 2016, he served as the Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries’ president (OPEC).
While earning his master’s and doctorate at Harvard University in the United States, he earned his law bachelor’s degree from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka.


She worked as the petroleum minister for more than five years, from April 6, 2010, to May 28, 2015, during President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan’s presidency. Before being appointed Petroleum Minister, she had worked as a career with Shell Petroleum Development Corporation. As an architectural consultant, head of civil infrastructure, head of corporate issues, and head of crisis management, she joined Shell Petroleum Development Corporation in 1992.

She became the Lead Joint Ventures Presentation Advisor in 2004 after receiving her Masters in Business Administration from Cambridge Judge Business School in 2002. In 2006, she was appointed an Executive Director of Shell, making her the first woman to hold that position in Nigeria.

She held two more political positions in addition to that of Petroleum Minister, namely Minister of Mines and Steel from July 26 to December 2008 and Minister of Transportation. She was also the first woman to hold the position of President of the Organization of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) from November 2014 to December 2015.

After earning her master’s degree in business administration from Cambridge Judge Business School in 2002, she joined Shell as an executive director in 2006, becoming the first woman to hold that position in Nigeria. In 2004, she was appointed as the lead joint ventures presentation advisor.

Olusegun also served as military head of state, chief of staff, supreme headquarters, and defence minister. He presided over the African Union as its chairman from 2004 to 2006. (AU).


He was chosen in 2003 to support President Olusegun Obasanjo as his presidential advisor on energy and petroleum. He was appointed as the petroleum minister of state in 2005. Before these jobs, he had a lot of experience in the oil industry thanks to his more than three decades spent working for Shell Petroleum Development Corporation and Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC).

He received the education necessary to earn a doctorate from Imperial College in London, England. He currently works with Caverton Offshore Support Group (COSG), an organisation that provides maritime and aviation logistics for Nigeria’s oil and gas industry.


From 1995 until 1998, he served as the petroleum minister for General Sani Abacha’s government.


There was a need for proper management and administration of the sector following the discovery of crude oil in 1956 at Oloibiri in present-day Bayelsa. The Hydrocarbon division of the Ministry of Lagos Affairs initially dealt with issues pertaining to the oil and gas sector. After that, the Ministry of Mines and Power’s Petroleum Division, a division, oversaw activities relating to petroleum.

A Ministry was established to supervise the nation’s petroleum-related operations in 1975. The Ministry of Petroleum and Energy is how it was referred to. the establishment of the Ministry of Petroleum Resources in 1985.

Leave a Comment